Change/Move Placement v6.1

You can now manage a job's volunteers right from the job screen. This mirrors what you can do with placements from the volunteer screen. You can edit a placement from either volunteer or job and move it to another job (from volunteer) or to another volunteer (from job) and all of the hours will move with it. You cannot do it from placements.

A placement can be moved only to another job in a different station. If both jobs are in the same station you should, instead, terminate one of the jobs.

WARNING: Reassigning a volunteer to a different job results in the records appearing as if that volunteer was always doing that job. There is no history referencing the initial placement. Do not use this maneuver to reassign a volunteer to a new client, for instance, when the existing placement with a client is ended. In that case add a new placement to the new client.

In Volunteers | Placements

To move a volunteer's placement to another job:

Move existing volunteer and hours to a different job

Verification screen to move existing volunteer and hours to a different job.

Warning question VERIFY
Changed Job/Client
You have chosen a different job/client for this
placement. This will move all existing hours to
the new job/client.

Are you sure you want to do this?

Hours Dates, Job and Placements Starting Dates

If you change the starting date of the placement, naturally you will be notified if there are hours on record for the initial placement prior to that new date. So you should adjust the placement starting date accordingly. In that case you may have to cancel and go back and look at the original hours dates in the job placement that will eliminated. Edit the starting date back farther in the target job to accommodate the earlier hours you'll be moving.

If you are moving a lot of placements to consolidate all the hours from one job into another, after they are all moved you will then be able to delete the obsoleted job without a trace left behind. You might want to put a comment in the target job to indicate the history.

In Jobs/Clients | Volunteers Tab

To move a volunteer's placement to another volunteer:

Move existing volunteer and hours to a different job

Verification screen to move existing volunteer and hours to a different job.

Warning question VERIFY
Changed Volunteer
You have chosen a different volunteer for this
placement. This will move all existing hours to
the new volunteer.

Are you sure you want to do this?

Hours Dates, Job and Placements Starting Dates

If you change the starting date of the placement, naturally you will be notified if there are hours on record for the initial placement prior to that new date. So you should adjust the placement starting date accordingly. In that case you may have to cancel and go back and look at the original hours dates in the job placement that will eliminated. Edit the starting date back farther in the target job to accommodate the earlier hours you'll be moving.

If you are moving a lot of placements to consolidate all the hours from one job into another, after they are all moved you will then be able to delete the obsoleted job without a trace left behind. You might want to put a comment in the target job to indicate the history.

WARNING

Revised

Back to the Home Page.
Back to the Home Page.